August 20, 2007

  • Choices and Risks

    As I sat there on the cold hospital floor last night looking around at all the sad, tear-worn faces, many thoughts ran through my head.  We all gathered there because we all just lost someone dear to us.  To most of us there, he was our Fraternity Brother.  But more than that, he was a friend–someone who was always there, who had a good head on his shoulders and cared deeply for those around him.  He’s one of the few people I know that always had a smile on his face.

    I’ve had many good conversations with him and we clicked pretty well.  My fondest memory of him was we when a bunch of us were talking about handball and the discussion came up about who was the best in the fraternity.  All my life, I have had many people tell me they can beat me even though they’ve never seen me play.  He never said it.  Instead, he looked me in the eye and told me that he was better and then proceeded to demonstrate his ability on the handball court.  We never played against each other, but I was able to tell that he was in fact better.  That was the kind of person he was–not someone who was arrogant, but someone who was confident of his own abilities. 

    As I sat there trying to bring up memories about him, I wondered about something else.  Normally, when someone we know passes away, we often come to realize that life is really a very fragile thing.  We all know there is expiration date, but we don’t know what the date is.  I hate to say it sometimes, but even if you lived till 100, life is short.  Regardless of how old you are, just take a second and think back.  You would realized that time flew by and it only seemed like it was only yesterday when you were a kid. 

    I wondered how he felt about his life and how he lived it.  Besides wishing him to be alive, I really wished I could ask him that one question–”Was it worth it?”  He passed away last night because he lost control of his bike and hit a tree, causing internal bleeding.  He was in critical condition when he was in the hospital and passed away a couple of hours later.  I want to know if he thought riding a motorcycle was worth it.  Everyone knows of the risks involved with riding one.  One friend said to me, “I would never ride one because getting into an accident is inevitable.” 

    Would it be better if we never took such risks in life?  If no one ever wanted to ride motorcycles, do extreme sports, climb mountains, free-fall, etc.  More people may be alive if none of those things were available, but what about the quality of our lives?  Is living it with excitement and pushing ourselves with activities that pump our adrenaline, but also risking our physical well-being and even our life–is it worth it? 

    On one hand, death makes us realized that life is short and anything can happen.  We should live everyday like it’s our last–but what if by doing that, it literally makes us our last day?  Would this motorcycle accident deter other people to who know him to stop riding?  If his death was from something else, would it motivate more people who have always wanted to ride a motorcycle to finally pick it up?  It’s a really tough question. 

    I have always believed in having fun and experiencing as much as I can.  I always wanted to ride a motorcycle, but I didn’t want one enough to get one.  However, I have always wanted to do other things like scale Mount Everest or climb Yosemite.  At Everest, I might freeze to death or die of brain hemorrhaging.  At Yosemite, I might lose grip and fall to my death.  Knowing these risks, I still aspire to do them.  Why?  Do I really need those things in my life to feel alive or that I have lived a complete life?  Am I willing to wager my life on it so that I can win back some unbelievable experiences?  What’s going to stop me from trying to scale the other 6 summits of the world?  What’s going to stop me from trying to climb other crazy mountains?  What if I become a pro at what I do and decide to do it without gear? If I do accomplish those things, where does it stop?  If I eventually died from these activities and someone did ask me if it was worth it, would I positively answer yes?

    None of these questions can be answered.  Ultimately, we do what we like and what makes us feel good.  Some people never try anything and die regretting that they hadn’t really lived.  Some live life to the fullest and die doing so.  There is really no such thing as balance when it comes to these things.  You can be as careful as you want, but when your time is up, there is nothing you could do about it.  You could never try anything, live a sheltered and protective life and still end up dying young.  And then there are those who slave at their job so they can make more money to eventually live the grand life they have always dreamed about–only to realize that they are now too old to do the things they have always wanted to do. 

    Every choice we make, we carry risks.  Some with less risks while other choices have more risks.  Do they really determine what the expiration date is on your life?  Not necessarily.  However, to think that there is no relation at all, is really living life recklessly.  I don’t think he lived his life recklessly, except that unfortunately, his time was up.  I think that he would tell me that he loved riding his motorcycle and every second on it was a great feeling.  Obviously, in hindsight, he would choose life, but hindsight is always 20/20.  Instead I think the only regret he probably has, is not saying goodbye to those he loved. 

    ** ** ** **

    John, you were the youngest Brother to be addressed by his first name by me because that’s how much I liked and respected you.  We never got to play that game of handball and even though I know you’re better than me, I think it would be a very close game.  You better keep your game sharp because when I meet you on the other side, I don’t want to hear any excuses from you. 

    You were a great Brother and a great Friend to many.  You will definitely be missed.

    RIP – John “Heist” Lau – 8.18.07

Comments (44)

  • I’ve ridden for over a year and never got into an accident; every rider I’ve met “understands” the risks, but doesn’t really like to think about it. You’re right: he passed away doing something he loved, and I don’t think he has any regrets about getting a motorcycle. I’m sorry for your loss.

  • i’m sorry about the loss your friend. i dont think i do anything too dangerous, but that’s the type of person i am. i like the simple things in life. I say just do what you want to do, and don’t worry so much about what it could mean.

  • I’m so sorry for your loss jigg.

  • I’m sorry for the lost of your brother.  A well written blog.  Experience life we must as 9/11 taught us we are not guaranteed tomorrow.

  • i’m very sorry for your lost man.

  • i’m sorry about your brother. i wish him, his family and friends peace.

    my bf wants a bike. i’m super worried, but you’re right. in the end he’s gotta livee his life to the fullest.

  • oh man… im really sorry for your loss.

  • I feel really bad for you, Ray. I’m sure he really valued your friendship while he was alive.

    Jana xxoo

  • All good questions, and though no one can really answer them, I am a devoted follower of the “carpe diem” principle.  Sounds like your friend lived his life fully, for all it was worth, without reservation, and that’s something to be admired. 

    I’m sorry for your loss.

  • I’m really sorry for your loss.  It’s never easy losing someone you care about. =/

  • I am so sorry for your loss. Condolences and good thoughts.
    g.

  • sorry for your loss :(

  • im sorry for your loss. it’s really hard to lose someone your truely liked and respected.

  • ray… that was beautifully written.  i’m sure he knew how you felt while he was alive… my condolences. 

    as for the balance… i think everyone has their own balance.  sometimes being protective is the thing that keeps us going.  it’s so sad that he died so young, but as you said… he was doing what he loved.  people make their own choices and live with them, good and bad.    i too have always wondered what it was like to ride a motorcycle, and have had the opportunity easily to be a passenger, but my fear keeps me from climbing aboard.  too many people i know have been hurt or killed that i just can’t take that particular risk, yet the rest of my life is not risk-free.  so i guess that’s a choice i’ve made.

  • That was well written. Really.
    That was amazing.

  • omg im sorry..hope ur ok *hugg*

  • Beautifully & Nicely said. My condolences.

  • May he RIP…and im sure he knows and feels the love given by his brothers…

  • I still can’t believe it….

  • yeah you should do what you really love and are passionate about. if riding is your thing, don’t let danger stop you. i went thru a phase of wanting to have a bike too but i grew out of that and realized that wasn’t what i really really wanted to do.

  • my condolences.

  • i am sorry for your loss.

  • Great post Ray, with John’s passing I’ve also given this some thought since I do enjoy riding and it situations like this happen all too often. Like with anything, mistakes will be made and situations like this tend to be less forgiving than others. I for one will continue to ride and honor his memory and hope that those wishing to pick up riding do it safely and knowledgeably. RIP bro, watch over us and keep us safe..

  • Very insightful post.  My condolences to his friends and family.  He sounded like a great guy.

  • my condolences. personally, i’m not a risk taker. life can be enjoyable without such extreme risks, just depends on the type of person you are.

  • so sorry for your loss.

  • Great post and beautifully written, Ray.

    I ride with my bf a lot.  It’s unfortunate that we hear news like this way too often.  I’m sorry to hear about your fellow brother.  Many riders will always remind their fellow younger riders to ride safe and look out for each other.  Motorcycles are dangerous but what can be more dangerous are the riders him/herself (bikes and cars.) 

  • im truly sorry to hear about your friends passing.

    even if we took zero risks, our lives are so fragile, so where do we draw the line?  never ride an airplane? never drive a car?  never venture outside our home? 

    life itself is always a risk. 

  • You’ve captured his memory well.  There are things I use to enjoy doing that I’ve given up b/c I think it was too much of a life risk.  But with anything it comes down to worth right?  You ask a lot of great questions here…and answers u won’t get til u get to the other side.  I hope you and your brothers are ok.  my condolences to his family and loved ones.

  • My condolences to you and your family & friends for the loss!

  • yeah life is just a blink…that’s why if there people you care about and you gotta let them know…cherish them…there might not always be a next time.

  • I’m sorry for your loss.. my condolences

  • This is a tough question to answer. To do or not to do.

    I’m sure your friend John is doing good on the other side.

  • May he rest in peace.

  • Perhaps I came off a bit strong; psychologically speaking, as a human being, we make judgements on only what we know. It is a natural tendancy, depending on what information we have. The only bit of information I had was that blog entry. I apologize if it came off judgemental, the whole dating thing with women is a wound that hasn’t healed yet.

    For me, her blog entry really does seem like a rant about men, and also how societal views (media, movies, books, magazines) have made it so that women have this rediculously high standard for men.

    As I stated in my replies, it DID touch a raw spot, because I’ve been a nice guy all of my life, and I’ve been torn up by almost all the relationships I’ve been in. In addition to that, a good portion of my guy friends, Christian or otherwise (both groups are nice guys in general) have gotten the short end of the stick from women.

    I felt that it was because of societal influences that her standards were extremely high, which really makes me shake my head for 2 reasons:
    1. Her as a Christian, shouldn’t be influenced by worldy views on men, but by what God defines as a God-fearing man
    2. All of my Christian guy friends are godly, kind hearted, compassionate, pretty good looking, all with a job, guys. Almost all of them are single, and I think part of the reason is because of social/media influences on women on what a “real man” should be like.

    Basically, everything the wrote on her blog, happened to me (but for women, obviously) but with 10x the intensity. In addition to that, everything that she wrote on her blog has happened to most of my guy friends, Christian or otherwise (again, from women).

    For myself, and a lot of my friends, we may not exactly be Prince Charming, but the Princess is long dead.
    We’ve given up that dream a long time ago.

  • oh wow i never knew about kenya! thanks for the info~

  • I’m so sorry for the loss of someone so dear to you.

  • “Human beings do not live forever. We live less than the time it takes to blink an eye, if we measure our lives against eternity. So it may be asked what value is there to a human life. There is so much pain in this world. What does it mean to have to suffer so much if our lives are nothing more than the blink of an eye?” He paused again, his eyes misty now, then went on.

    “I learned a long time ago that a blink of an eye in itself is nothing. But the eye that blinks, THAT is something. A span of life is nothing. But the man who lives that span, HE is something. He can fill that tiny span with meaning, so its quality is immeasurable though its quantity may be insignificant. Do you understand what I am saying? A man must fill his life with meaning, meaning is not automatically given to life. It is hard work to fill one’s life with meaning. THAT I do not think you understand yet. A life filled with meaning is worthy of rest. I want to be worthy of rest when I am no longer here. Do you understand what I am saying?”

    – Excerpt from The Chosen – Chaim Potok

  • What ever will be will be–I think life is like this.

    Hope you have recovered from the sadness~ I feel so sorry about the news.

  • i am sorry to hear about your loss. i am sure you will see him on the other side. best of all wishes to you and his family and friends.

  • Live Life To The Fullest

  • I’m sorry about your lost of a good friend, but mostly a friend who is close enough to be call a brother.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *