March 29, 2012

  • Overall happiness

    There was a recent article that said that the happiest year for most men is when they are 33. I’m turning 31 tomorrow and 33 seems two years too far away to think about. At this moment in life, I know two things:

    1. It would really be hard to top my last year in college.
    2. My happiness is about an 8 on a scale of 1-10.

    Life has been pretty great the last couple of years. No real problems or issues have come up. I’ve completely gone out of debt (over 22k in credit card debt) and I married a wonderful wife who is not only super supportive, but complements me completely.

    It’s hard to ask for more, which also makes it hard to blog regularly. I have nothing to say anymore as people just don’t like reading happy posts all the time. I’d be lying if I said I blogged for myself.

    I think a lot of people don’t realize that happiness can be obtained and most importantly, it’s from having a healthy lifestyle. You wake up feeling better, both physically and mentally. I’ve since cut back on binging, whether it’s drinking or eating. I try to sleep earlier and try to exercise as often as possible.

    You know that feeling of built up stress? Yeah, I don’t feel that. Just by eating better and exercising regularly, I am losing weight and feeling more clarity and focused as ever. Happiness starts from living healthy, mostly because of how you feel at any given point.

    Maybe I’ll be happier at 33, but that’s only because I’ll be a father by then. You only live once, which many people use as an excuse to go all out. I think of it as something really precious. You only have one chance–make the best of it.

Comments (13)

  • Happy birthday for tomorrow. Nice post :)  

  • yay and congrats for getting out of credit card debt, ray!! and that article was such a miss… anyone can be at their happiest at any age, year after year =)

  • I completely agree with the article, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t be happy NOW, or that your last college year was the happiest for you. For me, the present has always been my happiest. And I know that my 30′s is going to be even greater :) ive always looked forward to getting older and can’t wait to be 33 and older!

  • Happy Birthday Ray and congratulationsss! :)

  • i beg you, just pleeeasse do not become like bryce allen finger.

    he is a lying cheating whore and will do and say anything to get into the pants of young girls. and he’s only 25.  YUCK i don’t want to imagine how he will treat girls when he’s 33.  ahhhhhh. jump off a fucking cliff!!!!!!!!!!

  • happy birthday! and also, you definitely have it good. happy for you!

  • happy early birthday! would you happen to have a link for this article…perhaps shed light on which age is happiest for women? I think part of being happy is about stability..and sometimes even routine. 

  • have a wonderful happy life! :D

  • Happy Birthday jigg!

  • Congratulations! :) I love reading posts or anything about people being successful or appreciating and being happy with their lives. Happy birthday jigg! From a reader of yours from waaaaaaaaay back.

  • There needs to be happier posts on xanga anyways, and i sure hope you don’t stop! Also… Congratulations! :)  

  • Happy Belated Birthday!  … And, love the last line of this post. Perfect.

  • Your blogs are always refreshing… happy or not. It’s more about your writing and insight into things. So do blog about your happiness as well. =)

    But I agree, it’s very hard to blog when you’re happy. It’s like how musicians write better songs when they’re unhappy. =P
    Happy belated birthday.
    My husband and I are trying for a baby, so I’d like to think his happiest years in life will be his fatherhood years. We’ll see if that will be true. But considering that we’re moving to Honolulu in less than 2 months, our best years may be these coming 3 years. =)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *