November 29, 2011

  • Fantasy football loss

    Every year, my friends and I gather at a bar and we do a live draft for fantasy football. During the first couple of seasons, what winds up happening is that the teams who are not in the running for a playoff spot, sort of give up and do not bother playing, sometimes giving their opponents unfair advantages by essentially allowing them to win. In order to prevent that, a new rule was created–the winner of the league will have to buy a costume for the owner of the last placed team, to be worn fort the entirety of the next season’s draft. Since the draft is in public, everyone walking around at the bar will see it. Unfortunately this season, I came in last.

    I actually had a pretty good draft–my first two picks were Mendenhall and Turner. Mendenhall was a complete flop and pretty much cost me many of my games. I also led the league in Points Against, meaning whoever I play, they go on beast mode and score a ton of points. For those of you who do not understand FF, what basically happens is that points are assigned to stats and as the player accumulate these stats in real life, they gain points for your team. For example, if 1 yard gained is .1 point and a touchdown is 6 points–if a running back runs 10 yards and scores a touchdown, he will gain 7pts for you (10 yards x .1pts plus 1 td x 6pts).

    One thing I noticed is that I don’t like making trades. I seem to have this hope (more like pride) in the team I drafted and I think they will come around. At one point, I was offered in hindsight to be a great trade (Welker for Javid Best), but I declined, thinking that I already had one Pats receiver (Branch), I didn’t want another and I would do well with 3 RBs. Unfortunately Best gets a concussion and Welker goes on to score a ton of points. I definitely would not have lost this season if I made that trade.

    Anyway, as much as FF is luck, it’s much more about skill as decisions you make can be the difference between a win and a loss. I’m excited for next year, and really curious as to what kind of costume I will have to wear. During this year’s draft, last years loser had to wear a penis costume. I just want to get it over with. If it’s not too embarrassing, maybe I’ll post pics. We’ll see.

    If this happened to you, would you post pictures?

Comments (5)

  • lol, it would suck to wear that costume! But it could be worse!

  • I thought I was the only one who doesn’t like making trades! My husband always teases me about it because I never do, for the same reason you stated in this post, but I got the last laugh because after years, I’m finally at the top of my league this season! (Sorry, felt the need to brag because I’m proud of myself. )

    To answer your question, yes, I would post pictures. What good is the internet without embarrassing pictures?

  • no, i wouldn’t post pictures if it’s too embarrassing. hahaa. the internet has somewhat its way of getting back to you. 

  • there’s this show called ‘the league’. it’s about some friends playing fantasy football and revolving their lives around it. ridiculously funny. you should watch it.

    and mendenhall as your 1st pick? idk about that. steelers are a pass-first team the past couple years. i used to be obssessed with FF, but i changed that obssession toward stocks. very similar: you have to have to buy quality stuff when everyone thinks it’s crap on the surface. whatever the case, trades win championships!

  • better luck next year, i usually grab an elite RB and WR with first 2 picks.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *