February 23, 2012

  • Preparing your resume – Tips and Advice

    I’ve received about about 10 resumes this weekend from a bunch of people—whether it’s their own, or someone they know who might be interested in the job that was posted by another friend. While I didn’t really expect people right out of college to have great looking resumes, I was surprised by the look of these resumes from people who have at least 1-3 years worth of work experience. So I decided to post this as a reference for anyone who is looking to improve their resume.

    I wouldn’t call myself a pro at this, but after reviewing so many resumes in the past couple of years, there are many mistakes that are repeated.

    In no particular order of importance-

    A. Spelling/grammatical mistakes. As obvious as this may sound, you’d be surprised how many people submit their resume without proofreading.  As soon as you are drafting your resume, you should proofread your resume and then have at least two other people proofread it before you submit it for anything. If you assume that someone is hooking you up with a job, they are then assuming that whatever you provide them is the end product of your resume. If there are spelling and/or grammatical mistakes in there, they would automatically think that you are either careless or didn’t put in the effort. If your friend thinks that, what do you think HR or Hiring Manager would think?

    B. 
    Aesthetically pleasing. It’s important that before reading anything, your resume is formatted properly and that there’s not a disproportionate amount of white space (lots of white space on the left, but none on the right or lots of white space at the bottom, but not balanced from the top). I have seen many resumes where there are words on it, but it looks empty. I’ve seen resumes where the formats are not consistent and the spacing is weird. It cannot look like you spent 2 hours working on it. It’s a reflection of who you are as a candidate.

    1. Use a unique template. About 90% of the resumes I normally receive, come from one of the Microsoft Word resume templates. This is NOT acceptable. Whoever designed the MS Word resume template probably never had a nice looking resume because not only are the fonts and spacing really generic, it’s straight up ugly. There’s also a crazy amount of white space that causes the resume to look empty. Plus if 90% of the resumes are like that, chances are, a large % of resumes HR receive are like that as well. You’re not standing out by doing what everyone else is doing. Browse the internet and find other people’s resumes.  Ask your friends to look at theirs and see if you can use their format.

    C. Education does not come first. If you have been out of school already and have at least 1 year worth of work experience, do not put Education above Work Experience. A resume should be looked at top to bottom. Your education plays second to your work experience. Emphasize that first.

    D. 
    Do not put your GPA unless it’s an A- (or above). If you think anything between a 3.0 and a 3.5 is considered a “high GPA,” just think about it in terms of letters. If you changed it to a letter grade, it would be something along the lines of a B+. Do you really want to say that you’re only a B+ student?

    E. 
    Bullet points should be responsibilities and impact. Virtually every resume I received has a long list of responsibilities. That’s not what a resume is, a list of things you do. First of all, there should be no more than 5-6 different things. If it’s more than six, then choose the 5-6 most important things you do and put those on. You want to tell the person reading it, what exactly you do and what kind of impact do you have with that responsibility. Provide examples of those “achievements” you have.  The format should always be something along the lines of [a responsibility] + [impact or affect of your work].

    F. 
    Keep it one page. Rule of thumb is that if you don’t have about 10 years of work experience, you shouldn’t have two pages. Most people are interested in only your current jobs and what you do. I rarely get asked about my time right out of college. It’s just not that important. 

    G. Tailor resume to fit job description. Read the job description carefully and see how you can incorporate your experiences to fit the need of the person hiring. For example, many of the resumes submitted did not demonstrate finance or accounting experience. If you do in fact have some, at least highlight/illustrate that in your resume. If someone has to search your resume to see how it applies to what they’re looking for, it’s going to raise some red flags.

    H.  Use a decent email address.  As mentioned in one of my earlier posts, there is definitely email address bias.  There are people who look down on “hotmail” or “yahoo” email addresses.  But more importantly, try to use a professional email address like yourname@email.com.  ”AznCutie@gmail.com” for example should NOT be used.

    Anything else I missed?

Comments (40)

  • any tips on a good objective line?  I’m looking for a new job, but apparently my objective line is a bit weak

  • @BaLob - I wanted to put something there about objectives but it’s one of those things that go both ways.  Some people swear by it, others think it’s pointless.  My opinion is that it is pointless.  As long as you tailor your resume to fit the job description, you don’t need to tell people what you’re looking for.  Personally, it’s a real waste of space.  You should only have one if prime real estate on your resume abundant and you just need things to fill it.

    But if you’re one of those who swear by objective lines and feel you absolutely need one, then you can either post what you have here or email it to me so I can take a look.  jigg.xanga@gmail.com.
    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • My manager said I got the job because my resume was printed on nice heavy specialty paper. 

  • @MuseErato - lol nice…

    Hmm, good time with the post of this entry. I was thinking of crafting my first resume this weekend. Thanks for the tidbits.

  • On (B): Many companies scan their resume or utilize automated keyword searching. “Pretty”–oddly-formatted resumes may be underlooked in such circumstances.

  • @MuseErato - I’ve toyed with the idea of using cardstock paper– but then I didn’t want to stand out (in a bad way) for being queer. But point well taken: cotton “resume paper” is so friggin’ vanilla.

  • use action words to lead the sentence, quantify whenever possible, don’t sound generic

    but really, if you’re good enough, you don’t need a resume to get you a job. 

  • @Celestial_Teapot - custom-fit depending on the job – should it look pretty, should it be easily searchable for keywords, should it be on plain or specialty paper, etc.

  • Excellent post.

    Also your profile pic reminded me of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5N9rF-h2-ZA

  • Jigga, my nigga.

    (Chuckles at intro)

    I saved this onto my computer. Just thought I’d let you know. Very informative, sir. ^^

  • I review a lot of resume and agree with everything you say (except perhaps the 1 page thing).  Very good advice.  I’ll add: Objective is optional but when you include one make sure it fits the job. Including an accomplishment is powerful but few people do it well.  Ask yourself what difference did I make?  What improved?  Or when you write your responsibilities, ask yourself “so what.”  Example: Responsibility = Worked directly with customers to achieve satisfaction. Accomplishment = Customer satisfaction improved 10% in first year of employment and average sale per customer increased by 20%.  @consignedhearts111 - it should be electronic and carry a hard copy to the interview.

  • Also make sure your LinkedIn is synced to your resume

  • This MUST be advice for private industry?

     Most of this advice will not work for a government or DoD resume(jobs).

  • 1. Have multiple version of an updated resume on hand, depending on the specialty in which you’re interested.

    2. Use a job search engine to look for common keywords in your area of interest. Then, incorporate those keywords into your resume.

  • Very good advice

  • out of curiosity, do you do interviews?

  • Shouldn’t this be common knowledge to anyone that is applying? If not, maybe you don’t deserve the job because you’re not doing the due diligence anyway. The most important point is (G.), because that’s the first filter an employer is going to use.

  • Some good advice here.

    @Yosho - You are so wrong.

  • 3.5 is an excellent GPA. Graduate schools recognize that. To me, GPA is only relevant if ur interviewing for top consulting and financial firms out of college. After that, i would say its irrelevant.

  • Looks great! But one important point is missing, and that’s your character. Experience and credentials are nice, but everyone has those. Let them know something about who you are, and why they should even consider you.

    You could sneak it in their subtly, or spell it out in caps. It depends on where you’re applying. Tailor your resume to the company you’re applying. A few years ago I made sure mine was humerous and witty for my current job.

    I thought that would score some points and it did. I even messed up at my interview, knocked a large whiteboard onto the ground, and then said, “hehe oops, should we start over?”, with a huge goofy smile on my face. I knew it looked hillarious, ’cause they were all cracking up, probably due to the way my face ‘n eyes lit up. It kinda aroused me!

    I thought it was hillarious and so did they. They said, “No, that was great! We’ve seen enough!”, and then they hired me.

  • you’d be surprised at how many people don’t follow this. i received around 50+ resumes for the internship position i put up and there were maybe two decent people out of all the ones i received ugh

  • @RushmoreJ - lol it was a response, not a question, but thanks! lol good advice

  • @petitetokio - i bet you’ve seen some “amazing” resumes. lol. I know I have.

  • funniest parts of bad resumes are the emails 

    one i saw had the email h0tgrl69@somedomain

  • One other tip…don’t LIE.

    It may seem like a small thing.
    It’s just one job, right?
    Only a man who was President at one of our local colleges just lost his position…because they looked up the credentials he listed two DECADES back…and found out he lied.

    Poof. Goodbye 250K job….plus a bonus.
    It probably seemed like a good idea at the time.
    And he DID get away with it for years…but now it’s in all the papers…and I suspect he will have one helluva time getting another position.

  • I haven’t exactly hit the big 3-0 yet and I’ve not worked in a financial institution as long as you have but from having been in the industry part-time for the past 4 years, I finally recognize your aim here. My thoughts to you are, good advice. I wish Career Service would have told me the same back in my first year of college. 

  • Oh teally thank you for ur kindly sharing
    I had never heard of there are some people who looked down on hotmail or yahoo . Thanks so much!!!

  • Can you take my email address out of H? Just kidding, I’m not AznCute@gmail.com. Thank you for the tips though!

  • don’t include your picture. 

  • Thank goodness you posted this!! I just finished undergraduate with no job experience because my father rather have my focus on school than have a part time job. But I’m asian, I have a typical asian father who would assume that right after college i’d get a good job and make bank. WRONG! But anyways, again, thank you! ^_^

  • Do you put availability in resume too? Thank you for your tips. I think I’m doing everything right already. (*^^*)

  • @smile4leena - I’m pretty strong at interviewing, but definitely not the best.  I have a friend that can pretty much nail any and every interview, if given the chance.  It just takes a lot of practice.

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • any chance you can show an example of a good resume design? maybe blur out names, address, and email to show what looks good? 

  • Good list of sound advice that I wish I had before stepping out of college. Will keep note of them for future reference.

    I’ve always doubted the use for ‘objectives’. If need be, probably better to put it in a cover letter instead of the resume.

    Also, on the note of proofreading, your list looks funny going AB(1)CDEFGH.

  • Ooh awesome. 

  • No wonder why you get so many feedbacks
    get a job now

  • Keep it up; keep posting more n more n more.
    resume builder

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *