June 21, 2012

  • Not ready for marriage?

    I find it interesting when my friends tell me they’re not ready for marriage and then go on to explain something that totally does not have anything to do with marriage itself.

    Top reason of all is, “I want to focus on my career and be financially stable to sustain a family”. Honestly, I don’t even know what that means. Maybe if you are neck deep in debt and you’re trying to get out of it, I can understand that, but generally speaking, what does having a great career and making more money have anything to do with marriage? Are you only capable of focusing on one important aspect of your life at one time? Will there ever be a point where you are completely satisfied with what you have accomplished and will take a step back?

    If anything, I believe that marriage supports that unless you plan on marrying someone who is just gold-digging. If that’s the case, you would never make enough. My wife and I support each other in our careers and the because of that, significantly lowers the stress and pressures we have to deal with because even if we failed, we have support.

    Another popular reason is that once you get married, you’ll be on lockdown and you won’t be able to do what you have always wanted to do. The reality is that if you’re 30 and you still haven’t done most of those things on your bucket list, it’s mostly because you have been procrastinating and making excuses. I always wanted to travel more, but the reality was that I kept on saying it was a bad time or I didn’t have enough money. The truth was, I just didn’t make traveling a real goal and priority in my life and it would probably never be. Besides, why would marriage stop you from doing those things you wanted anyway? If you married the right person, either you do those things together, or they would support you in doing those things if it isn’t something they’re interested in. Granted, there are some things that I had to rethink like scaling Mount Everest, but like I said earlier, if it was really that much of a priority in my life, I would have done it already.

    When I hear these reasons, I feel like people have this idea that marriage is a prison. Once you get married, all yor attention has to be there. In my opinion, that only happens if you’ve settled and married the wrong person. If you married someone who isn’t supportive of you and you in turn will not e supportive of them. You married someone who cares about their own happiness much more than yours. And the mistake here is choosing the wrong person, not choosing marriage.

Comments (69)

  • I agree.  Congratulations for marrying the right person.

  • I’m not married because the men in my city are assholes

  • totally agree with everything you say! I believe that when ppl say they are not ready for marriage it is just an excuse. they’re not “ready” for marriage because they haven’t met the right person. it’s easier to say “i’m not ready for marriage” than to say “i don’t have anyone to marry”. i have friends that claim they dont want to meet a guy or a girl because it will hold them back from the things they want to do. I just roll my eyes and tell them the truth: they’re too scared of failing in another relationship and it makes them feel better to claim it was their choice that they are single (or if they’re not single, they are with someone they have doubts about). its much easier to concentrate on something you have control over, like traveling or moving to a new location or working harder for more money. I guarantee that if they meet the right person, they would not be thinking that way.

  • with marriage comes a lot of responsibilities. there’s family duties and, of course, the responsibility of tending to your spouse. a lot of things change when youre married, and one of them is that you can’t be selfish anymore. it is no longer about you, you, you, and every decision you make affects your spouse. If someone is not ready to stop putting themselves first, they aren’t ready for marriage. 

  • u remind me something………trust!if u can trust someone, that can be supportive to each other.

  • I think most of these people equate getting married with starting a family.  Having kids will throw a big monkey wrench in any plan.

  • @petitetokio - You should move cities.  California has plenty of nicer cities :)  

  • I didn’t get married because I felt there was something crucial missing from the relationship, not because I believe in being satisfied with my work or financial sitation prior to that. I totally agree that being married to the right person will only make life easier. Heck, being in a committed relationship where both people work on financially, mentally and emotionally supporting one another is one of the most wonderful aspects of being with someone great. 

  • You’re completely correct about career. In fact, http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/cheri/workingPapers/upload/cheri_wp94.pdf backs you up that marriage helps. I know my grad education was much more brutal without a spouse.

  • as @MJeeeeeeeezy said, there are responsibilities. i do agree with most of what you said, that marriage does not equate to immediate family and all that part. but it is a huge commitment, and perhaps some want money to be able to retire their parents, need money for that first, and more importantly need their focus for that first before thinking about marriage. I mean, ultimately, in the majority of all marriages, a family does end up happening and I think people have that in their minds and know that they at the present moment do not have enough money for that, and have other people to take care of already (family as aforementioned). But congrats on finding the right woman/partner for you, tis rare, ’tis supah rare. 

  • And the mistake here is choosing the wrong person, not choosing marriage.I think you summed it up quite nicely. I think, if anything, the beautiful thing about marriage is, granted you’re married to the “right” person, ideally, is that you don’t have to go through it alone. There’s this beautiful quote that reminds me of this:”Life is about being able to wake up in the morning as your own person, with your own dreams. The only difference between that and love is that you’ve decided to run after your dreams while holding someone else’s hand.”Marriage is a partnership, a team. You’re walking in this journey together and you help build each other up, which means you help one another attain whatever aspiration/dream the other has. I agree with you that the whole “I’m focusing on my career first” excuse isn’t that legit. I hope to marry someone who will unconditionally support me in my career, educational, spiritual, mental, and physical aspirations and vice versa – basically, someone I can build a life with, together.

  • i tend to agree, but i think it’s dumb of you to judge others for their reasons.  any type of relationship is a serious responsibility.  

  • generally girls don’t want to travel to Somalia or Myanmar, tis why I stay single. 

  • Some people need more than just love to want a marriage.. I would prefer a longer dating period to understand a person and develop trust. So yes, I’m not ready for marriage.

  • If somebody says, :”I’m not ready for marriage because…” it makes no difference at all what comes after that, he/she should refrain from imprisoning another person in a marriage with him.  Marriage is hard, and if your partner isn’t completely committed to it, it’s miserable.

  • I’m not ready for marriage because I haven’t met anyone nearly suitable and when I look at myself and think would I marry myself I do not like my answer. I’m not even sure I’m ready to date at this point in my life.

  • A marriage contract to me is a form of security, there are many good benefits in a marriage. But honestly, marriage is not necessary if it was all about love. People are more independent today, so they don’t need to rely on others. It’s okay if a person want to travel more because it may be harder when you have a family to support or a mortgage to pay off…by then for some people it may be more difficult to come up with the money to travel. Finance is an issue when people have certain expectations. For example, it’s okay to delay getting married if a person wants a fancy wedding or something. But when it comes down to it the wedding isn’t as important because it’s really about give and take…and coming up with solutions together for the rest of their lives…huge responsibility…and most people can’t, and that’s why the divorce rate is 50% if not higher…maybe your friends hadn’t found the right person…and congrats for finding the right person.

  • @flapper_femme_fatale – I don’t get why it’s dumb to judge people by their reasons. I mean, you think what I’m doing is dumb, so you’re judging me on my reasons. My next post is going to be about why being judgemental is negative.But to respond to your point, I think reasons should be reasons, not excuses. These all sound like excuses because they don’t make logical sense.-ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • i dont believe in marriage because i’m scared of getting a divorce. -_- but you’re right. i’m glad YOU married the right person.

  • @Victoriamisu – But that reasoning implies that people without money shouldn’t and cannot get married, which doesn’t make sense to me. My parents were poor and worked 12-14 hours a day… and were able to raise two children “successfully.” For the most part, marriage and family doesn’t get in the way of career. I really can’t imagine how it could.-ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • I agree, especially with the career thing. why not marry someone and make the journey through your careers together? it’s not like having someone waiting at home for you is going to affect how you perform in the workplace negatively. and anyway, what’s the big emphasis on being super successful? if you are with someone who makes you happy then it won’t matter if you are super rich or not. for me, marriage means having a partner to experience life with. and since things like working and going on adventures are simply part of life itself, it really doesn’t make sense to put off marriage just for that.

  • I think you really have to have a strong desire to get married. I’m not married and I think it’s because I don’t see how such a long term relationship could even be possible. It’s like you have to either stop growing so you never change or you have to find someone who grows just like you do. 

  • well said! i think it all comes down to marrying the right person for the right reasons. marriage can be a responsibility, but ultimately, it should make your life better. 

  • @galadrielspitcher - agreed. Plus, being married can actually help you be more successful, because if you’re with a supportive, encouraging person, they can help propel you toward your goals.

  • For me part of having a career is the money but also the stability. I have known the last few years where I lived was only temporary. After my residency ends this next year, I will get a job.. and I would like to be there for a min of 5-10 years, if not forever. I am tired of moving. Then, when I am stable, I plan to do online dating and if I dont find someone in a few years, I am seriously considering adopting a child or being a foster parent. I feel like if the ladies dont see the good in me, then I can pour myself into that or some other kind of minister or charity

  • I’m not ready to get married. For one, I haven’t found someone I want to marry who wants to marry me. For two, finding a marriage partner has never been very high on my priority list. And most importantly, I want to make damn sure it’s the right person. I’m nearly 30 and all my grandparents are still alive. They’re all in their 80s and 90s. So I’ve got the genes to live a long time. If I get married now, I could spend 60+ years living with this person. If that’s the case, they’d better be the right person.Not everyone has to get married, and if they don’t want to, it doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with them.

  • Love this post! I got married when I was 19, and my husband and I are working towards are dreams and goals together. And even if those change, we have someone to talk to about it and be there for us. I really love taking this life journey with him. Of course, its not the path for everyone, but I remember it wasn’t the best feeling when people would chide us for marrying so young, though he was a few years older than I. I don’t know. I jsut really liked your points =)

  • I totally agree with this so much.

  • When i hear something like this, i always think it’s someone who doesnt want to get married but is nervous about just saying it.  That’s too bad because there are a lot of people who shouldnt.

  • I wish I could rec this a hundred thousand times. I disagree with one point though; I think that those things have everything to do with marriage. Those are the times you are growing and evolving and becoming a better or worse person. if you wait to get married until you have those things in order or have done your adventuring you do two irreparable bits of damage to your relationship 1) you rob your spouse of the opportunity to grow and learn and evolve with you, along side you and become that much closer to you and 2) you develop an entitlement attitude to everything you have accomplished separate from your partner. @Victoriamisu - children are not a retirement fund for their parents, and if that attitude is the one being followed then one would never be able to marry until their parents were deceased. putting aside children for the time being, marriage IS in fact about starting a new family; even if that family is a family of two. the effect of this is also that it brings the two larger families together, merging them and so in fact, is better toward the goal of providing for parents anyway. I’ll reference the Andy Griffith show as an example; there was an episode in which some local farmer’s daughter wanted to get married but he refused to let her wear dresses or makeup or go out. in his mind he needed her to help out on the farm. toward the end of the episode he was convinced… persuaded to let her get all dolled up, and of course she started attracting a lot of attention from the local farm boys. the protagonist of the show in classic “here’s the moral of the story” fashion pointed out to him that a son in law would be much more help to him with his daughter than just his daughter alone. of course then there is also the reasoning i stated above to the OP. I’m inclined to agree that a lot of the reasons.. ok let’s call them what they are, excuses, given are just code words for selfishness. 

  • Very well said.

  • @MJeeeeeeeezy - ” a lot of things change when you’re married, and one of them is that you can’t be selfish anymore. it is no longer about you, you, you, and every decision you make affects your spouse.”So true. I believe many people do not “get” this, which is why the divorce rate is so high. Too many people focus too much on “getting married” and too little on what it takes for “being” married.

  • @mkazama - ” Heck, being in a committed relationship where both people work on financially, mentally and emotionally supporting one another is one of the most wonderful aspects of being with someone great. “Couldn’t have said it better.

  • I am a bachelor and will be for the rest of my life….thanks to my various illnesses but I deeply regret the fact that I will never marry and never have children…being single sucks but I will cope with it. After all Jesus was not married and Nelson Mandela could not even handle one year of it and that was after he dealt with 23 years in a South African prison. Amen

  • I do not think a person has to have a reason to not want to get married if they do not want to, but society has turned us into thinking we have to have a good reason to do something we do not want to do instead of just saying no.  Same thing for folks who do not want to have kids.  There is nothing wrong with no wanting to get married or to not having kids, and no excuse is needed.  No is a complete sentence.

  • @iones_island - not saying that’s the intention of parents having kids but it should be innately a responsibility of the child to their parents. I never even used the phrase retirement fund. Of course that can’t be the defining moment of when a person can/should be married- but I wouldn’t get married or invest in splitting my time in that regard unless I know that I can give my time, not even just money, to my parents/siblings first since they need it. I’d just stay in a boyfriend/girlfriend relationship rather than having the wife/husband union when I can’t commit to it like that. I wouldn’t get married without financial stability anyways, and put my spouse through worry for monetary stability, or making him wait for me while I put my own together financially. I wouldn’t put myself through that either.  not everyone can have the opportunity or freedom to be married, not everyone can afford marriage when they want it, especially given the responsibility to each other afterward being married. afford doesn’t really even refer to money. 

  • I don’t want to get married, because I don’t want to get married. I don’t want even want to be in a relationship, I enjoy being single. If I happen to meet a guy who blows my world away (figuratively, anyway) then maybe that will change. But now, I’m enjoying single life. I agree with you, though, about people making excuses to not do something like get married.@BumbleBoTuna - I would love to go to Myanmar, not as interested in Somalia, but Myanmar would be cool.

  • Like (thumbs up)

  • Who knows if the parts of the puzzle fall together or you need to force them together. Hopefully people also have the support of the community.The community can be harsh or gentle to single life. I can see in certain cases there might be issues both ways.There is so much to discover about ourselves. Good luck all in discovering the real self and the self with the added bonus, known as partner or spouse or companion.

  • Good words and advice.

  • what you’ve written is true. It takes hell lotsa mistakes and rubbish to get there, to find the correct person. many people i know gave up before reaching the final point. I’ve never thought of marriage in your way. Or maybe i’m just not ready. To be there for someone, to sacrify myself for someone, or just be with someone… I guess time will tell. Lucky you to have found someone to settle down with. :D

  • Marriage is about learning to share your life with another person.  Most people simply aren’t ready to do that yet.  A friend once commented that in his first year of marriage, his biggest realization was simply how selfish he was.  Those who can’t make that realization either end up in abusive or unhealthy relationships, or end up in divorce.”Readiness” in marriage terms is probably more accurately an internal readiness, the maturity to accept someone else into your life, as well as being humble enough to ask someone to accept you into theirs, than it is about any physical or material indicator.Sadly, many who get married today do it for the wrong reasons, as much as those who refuse to get married refuse for the wrong reasons.

  • Well, I think it applies for a certain age. You can’t use that reasoning for someone in their early 20s-22. Otherwise, pretty good argument. 

  • @Victoriamisu - I can’t say i agree at all, with so much of what you’ve said. when will your parents and siblings not need your time? what difference is there to those two types of relationships financially or emotionally or time-wise? the difference lies in your commitment to the other person and their commitment to you. this is taking what should be for marriage without the commitment of marriage to tend to your own needs/desires. listen to the detriments of marriage, the responsibility, the commitment. marriage shouldn’t be about what one can get without having to give much in return; scratch that, no relationship should be about that.marriage isn’t for richer, better and in health; there is poorer, worse and sickness and it’s all going to happen and it’s all a part of life and you’re either going to have someone to go through it with or you’re going to go through it all alone and that isn’t noble or virtuous or pious. if you’re staying with an uncommitted relationship and intent to stay on that until you’ve reached your checklists you not only risk never finding that commitment but you waste the other persons time and emotions when they could be with someone who would give them that commitment. not only them but yourself, you’re robbing yourself from having someone who will support you unconditionally in everything with your career, your family, your hopes and dreams because you are waiting until you’re established. maybe you don’t want to ever get married, and that’s fine, but don’t get the reasons twisted because the commitment and all of that is going to be there no matter when you do it. so you want to wait instead of having “our”  accomplishments, “our” trials and “our” successes until it is “mine and his” separately.. what is even the point then? you are right to say marriage is a union, but your focus seems to be on the independence and freedom you lose and not on the support, love and assistance that you would gain. whether you are talking about money, time, emotion or whatever it is, a union is meant not to drain you but to fortify and strengthen you. when i read the way you write about it, it makes me think that marriage is not worth it. if i work hard to make MYSELF financially stable, if i put so much energy into my own INDEPENDENCE then why would i ever want to give any of that up for anyone? at that point they are merely a leach feeding off of what i have worked so hard for. if however, the focus is finding and being with someone who will support and love them regardless of their circumstances and for whom one can offer the same, the marriage becomes appealing. the thing is, you could commit to it like that, and if you made a wise choice concerning who you joined yourself to it would not diminish your ability to care for your family but would in fact enhance it. 

  • Marrying the right person will make you life better, marrying the wrong person could ruin it. Being the right person takes time, effort, and maturity. 

  • @SoullFire - yep. too many folks put the focus on the wedding planning but not prepare enough on the actual marriage. seriously need to change that.

  • do you think a person should still be in a relationship or try dating or try being in one if they don’t feel like getting married? I mean, isn’t the goal of a relationship is marriage?

  • This post is totally spot on.

  • Timely. Thank you for sharing.

  • @Grannys_Place - Not wanting to get married is totally ok!  Marriage isn’t for everyone.  But when you use excuses for reasons, then you’re lying to yourself, are you not?-ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • @f5ye_angel5 - Marriage doesn’t have to be an end goal for every couple, but that should be something the couple has agreed to.  What if the other person wanted to get married?  You can’t just ignore their wants.-ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • @iones_island - you don’t have to agree. ”at that point they are merely a leach feeding off of what i have worked so hard for.”that’s not even close to what i was implying. a leech is one thing, but i’d like to be able give all i can to someone i love and will marry. I don’t want that whole I’m going to sit here and try to make equality, have money problems, have to so carefully ration out all the food, worry about whether or not i can eat, worry about whether or not my family will need my time. about the time, of course they will never NOT need our time. but as it is with almost eveyrthing in this world, there is a time for everything. eachs ituation is different, i’m speaking from my own that i’ve already told you about. things change which is why i believe in that, in waiting until they won’t need me around as much to even think about marriage and unions.not sure how you inferred that there was no point to marriage by reading my comment, i’m saying that it is my opinion there is a time to do it, and money is certainly a concern to have in mind, in life basically. 

  • @Victoriamisu - i’m not saying you were implying that; those are my words based on my experience. as a man and as an idividual of course our experiences are different. part of that experience is the whole “if you don’t make X have Y etc you arent worth anything.” hence i bristl at that wait for money talk. my thought on it is this, if a woman doesn’t love me enough to be with me when I am broke and starting out, but will once i have attained, it’s not me she loves; it’s my money, hence my comment, I want to respnd to the rest of this but i have to get back to work so i will later i am sorry if i offended you  in any way.

  • @jigg - I’ve never really been in a (serious) relationship before, but I feel like if you want to be with someone, be ready to commit. I mean, doing all fun things with the person would probably seem like a waste of time since you wouldn’t want to remember them or can’t remember them then feelings get hurt when the relationship ends. 

  • I completely agree! And although I am not married yet, I have tried/am trying to get my boyfriend to see these points. Especially the career one. He is still in school, but has a job. He doesn’t like his job, and he doesn’t feel like he’s a “complete person” until he’s graduated. yet…what does that have to do with marriage? Excuses.

  • @Victoriamisu - yaay im home from work! ok, back to replying. i don’t  think anyone wants to live in abject poverty and that’s not what i’m talking about. i don’t mean that people SHOULD enter into things drowning in debt or any such thing, what I am saying is, that if one is talking about a marriage based in love and focused on, as I am assuming yours would be, God then those circumstances should not be a hindrance. putting money aside, you already have so much to give and you deserve to have someone who will give to you and support you. I’m not saying you should get married NOW or even ever, that is up to you; what i am discussing is the reasoning behind the decision. as to inferring that there is no point, again that is my own words, based on the idea that marriage is intended to be a relationship of love and support and journeying through life together. if i’ve already made the journey alone then what is the point in bringing someone else in at the end? i don’t see any. i don’t need someone to be there for me when I have a house on 5 acres a nice car and(insert whatever luxuries or amenities equate to being stable) I need the support and the love and the encouragement when i am struggling, when i’m fighting to get by. ”it is not good for man to be alone” was never given a caveat as far as income etc. but even money aside, as much as i want someone (whether a friend or romantic relationship) to share the good times with, i equally need someone who will make the effort, even if it’s a small one (and sometimes a small one is all it takes) when i am down. and not only to have them be there for me but someone who would share their good times with me as well as allowing me to be there for them when they need strength and support. 

  • i just don’t like the status of being married- i’m still young. young and “never married” just sounds more appealing to me than young and married. i do view marriage as a lock down… while i do love the person i am with, as a boyfriend, when i make decisions like travelling back to australia to visit friends, the decision is ultimately my own and i get to decide when i get to go and for how long etc. if i’m married, i feel the need to talk to my husband, we have to discuss blah blah. i just like my freedom of doing whatever i want whenever i want.just one example. also, i just have the mentality that marriage = you’re old and you better start acting fuckin serious. me? serious? man, i’m still a kid (literally act like a kid).

  • I’m not married so I can’t speak from experience, but I agree with everything you wrote above!

  • To be honest I’ve always thought about it like this but this post was a huge eye opener, thank you. Congratulations on a beautiful marriage! You definitely chose the right person for you.

  • I want a nice wedding and a big loft before I get married. Oh yeah, I should just marry someone rich, haha.

  • My boyfriend and I were having a discussion about us getting married. He’s 33…and said he wants to get married in 10 years…I want to get married in a couple of years. I’m not sure if I should be worried or not. I love this post!  

  • lol. a lot of people make their marriage into a prison. some people like to be incarcerated? *shrug*people are ridiculous.

  • most people feel they’re not ready to marry until they’re 30+ with a steady career etc cause marry = baby & baby = expensive :P

  • Your work forces out your followers for blog commenting.XR Jax Advice

  • yap this is the right information if you are not agree for the marriage so just say the straightforward without making the lame excuses. if you have got the right person so marry him/ her  not gettig the marriage with the wrong person.Your Wedding Invitations

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *