August 6, 2012

  • Relaxing vacations

    Relaxing vacations is an oxymoron to me. I love going to cities and getting lost. Sure, I’d do some research regarding the must-sees, but I just want to see everything, good or bad. Usually I would return home exhausted, wishing I had a few more days off to rest. But we all know that never happens–if you have 7 days off, you’re going to use up all 7 to see and do as much as possible.

    Two weekends ago, I went to Provincetown MA with Mrs jigg and two of my friends. Mrs jigg had a bachelorette party to go to and had no way of getting there. I wasn’t invited, so I agreed to drive her there and just do my own thing. All the hotels were expensive there so I decided to camp.

    I convinced two of my friends that it’s going to be fun and relaxing. Since P-town is at the tip of Cape Cod, the drive was really long. It rained a bit, but our tent kept us dry. We explored the town, swam in an empty beach and drove around the Cape. We even spent at least two hours a day (three-day weekend) to read and just lounge around. Overall, despite the long drive, it was very relaxing.

    When I got back Sunday evening, I realized how rested I was. It was an unusual feeling as I’m always exhausted but this time, I felt great. Work has been stressful and this was exactly what I needed to recharge my batteries.

    I never thought that I would enjoy vacations where I don’t really do much. Maybe I’m just getting older but even though I didn’t “have a blast” on this trip, I enjoyed it a great deal.

    Before this trip, I was really against going away to resorts because I didn’t like the idea of lounging around. I don’t particularly like beaches either because I hate sand. This trip however changed my opinion. Vacations should be adventurous, but they can also be relaxing. I hate sand, but swimming in the ocean is a wonderful feeling, especially when the water is clear and warm.

    And for other future roadtrip, I think I might explore the camping option. It was a great idea for this trip and can be a great idea for future trips.

    What’s your idea of a vacation?

Comments (16)

  • hahahaha i hate sand too! and i only discovered the beauty of resort holidays in ’07. worth it. 

  • My idea of a vacation is lounging and doing absolutely nothing. I can be adventurous and explore, but most of the time when I’m on vacation I don’t have a plan. I loove camping for that reason. Resort vacations are soo great too. I make sure to do some activities, but you can usually find me in a pool with a swim up bar or chillin on the beach.

  • The key is to strike a good balance — or else you will either feel too bored and/or be overstimulated. Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip!

  • When I went to Hawaii, I just lounged on the beach right outside my hotel and sipped Mai Tais and Buddha Bellys every day.  Did not regret.

  • Vacation means going away and coming back home. What I do on the trip or if I get to do even anything I had planned varies from vacation to vacation.

  • I have the same attitude too, I spend a great deal of time and work trying to plan a great vacation instead of enjoying my vacation.

    I think there’s something to having a mini vacation. For one, there’s no pressure to see everything just because you dropped a thousand dollars on a plane ticket. And two, there’s not enough time to plan so you just kind of go with the flow.

  • wow you’re actually changed your view on something? you’re usually very set in your ways. lol

  • I tire easily so a vacation to me is sleeping in and lounging around. I’ll plan for one or two activities top a day but that’s about it. I get very irritable when I’m vacationing with non-like minded family who crams a million activities into one day. I try not to be anti social and bitchy but it’s soo hard to keep up! Lol.

    Just enjoying a new sight and having no deadlines or responsibilities is such a great feeling! Regular life is busy enough, no need to have a busy vacation. 

  • So true. I think we all get caught up with trying to do things that we forget our purpose is to enjoy. My trip to Beijing sucked hard because I was trying to do so many things, in the hot summer, and with that horrible air. Should’ve just focused on getting boozed up and hiring hookers.

  • Lately my idea of relaxation is to get away from stressful people, spa massage, read a book, & fine dine… I don’t enjoy tour trips anymore like I used to.

  • I have that same problem- doing so much that it’s almost as if the vacation isn’t really a vacation since you don’t get to relax much. Glad you had fun without getting exhausted, though!

  • what about hawaii sand?? :) i hate california sand, but love hawaii sand. not sure what east coast sand is like!

  • staycations or visiting unfamiliar areas with locals

  • You’re getting old because that’s exactly how I feel now too.

  • i’m greedy and would want to do everything especially the things i’ve never done before

  • I don’t think many of websites provide this type of information.
    vacanzemarinadimassa.com

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *