August 9, 2012

  • Question concerning wedding bands

    I’ve lost so much weight that my wedding band is now really loose. My ring is made of tungsten carbide, so it’s not sizable. My only choices are to do nothing and risk losing it and then buying a new one that’s the right size, or just buy a new one right now.

    Is there a specific sentimental value associated with that exact ring? What if I got one that’s identical in design, but smaller? Would it have less sentimental value? Would you be unhappy if your spouse was in my situation and got a new band?

Comments (29)

  • No problem.  Get the smaller ring.  It is no insult.  It’s not sentimental.  If the cat dies, you get a new one.

  • i would get the smaller ring if the cost isn’t too crazy, so i dont risk losing the original. if in the future you gain weight, you can always go back to the old ring! i dont think there’s anything super sentimental about the exact ring. if i had the money, i’d want a different setting for my rings. =)

  • Rings are rings. Objects have no real sentimental value.

  • Or you could just try to gain some weight back. As long as it’s okay with your spouse, there’s no big deal.

  • Reforge it in the pits of Mt Doom.

  • @I_love_Burma - lol.  Gaining weight back isn’t an option.  

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • @coolmonkey - If only it were that easy.  Some people have suggested welding semi-spheres on it as a spacer, but I think it’s only for metal.  The material for my ring is tungsten carbide, which is more of a ceramic ring than anything.

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • Would she be upset/disappointed/whatever negative feeling you can imagine if you got a new ring? If not, get a new one – it sounds like you aren’t that emotionally attached to having a different one already, and if she’s on the same page, then don’t fret. Women change/upgrade their engagement (and sometimes even their wedding) rings as time goes by, and certainly if they do something like get pregnant, and their hands change dramatically enough to warrant it.

    Congrats on losing the weight though!

  • @jigg - I guess the easiest solution would be to just gain all the weight back.

  • i thought there was only ONE ring to rule them all!!!

  • tape that shitt

  • you both can renew your vowels and buy a new ring for that ocassion

  • When we thought that Jason lost his ring, I started looking for a different ring. He was really sad though and searched for the same exact ring. We had taken pictures of our rings on our wedding day, and he wanted the same one. It worked out tho coz he ended up finding his ring. but anyway, women upgrade their rings after several years, and sometimes they’re completely different rings. Jason has lost a lot of weight as well, and he is going to need to get a new ring soon. I know he’s going to want a very similar one though.

  • Attach it to your keys.  

  • Wear it as a necklace! on a manly neck chain

  • *note to self don’t buy any rings made of that material

  • Im with monkey. Plz stay healthy. Get a smaller ring that fits, and maybe you can buy a chain to wear your actual ring around your neck… You know, so you dont lose it

  • you both now can get new better bands.. a ring is a ring.. as long we’re still together, that’s all that matters…

  • I have three wedding bands, and my husband too. One pair is a set that we went backpacking with in SA. Another is my blinged wedding band that’s paired with his dressier band. And we have another set given to us by our parents. I say just get another set- make it an anniversary set! 

  • They have ring spacers, it is almost like a pearl that fits at the bottom of the ring and closes the gap, hardly noticable. Less expensive ones are like this 
    http://www.inspiredsilver.com/p1631_ring-snuggies.html

  • Another reason why gold is a good choice. Reusable, resizeable, and of resale value.

  • wear it as a necklace. or use it as part of a bracelet.

  • put a chain on it and wear it as a necklace that way you don’t have to get a new one…if i was in the same situation i’d be hoping my husband would upgrade the rings…trade it in and get better ones…^_^

  • The fact that you still want to wear a wedding ring wins you bonus points.  A lot of married men don’t like to wear their rings. 

  • @beowulf222 – I don’t agree. My ring is virtually indestructible, retains its shape, and inexpensive. I saw the same ring in gold and it was $1,200. Mine cost me $111, shipped.

    I completely believe in buying gold, but never for jewelry.

    -ray leeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • @jigg - And now you cannot re-size it because it’s indestructible.

  • some family member outgrew his wedding ring, so they got these rings that twist and stuff. they look kind of ugly in my opinion though. 

  • I wonder why other professionals don’t notice your website much m glad I found this.
    click to read more

  • The blog and data is excellent and informative as well.this site

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *